The word YOGA is derived from the Sanskrit root Yog meaning to bind, to connect, to join, attach and yoke. It thus means a union or communion. Yoga is non-Cartesian: It takes into account the physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of human beings. In addition, archaic Yoga was also community oriented, as it attempted to discern the cosmic order through inner vision, then to apply that order to daily living.

Practiced for more than 5000 years, yoga is one of the oldest forms of healing therapy, and provides one of most thorough means of self-improvement and attaining one's full potential.

Mind-Body Medicine

Although known as a procedure to enhance flexibility and wellness, yoga is actually a mind-body medicine and as such addresses many clinical aspects, as the indications show.
Mind-body medicine focuses on the interactions among the brain, mind, body, and behavior, and the powerful ways in which emotional, mental, social, spiritual, and behavioral factors can directly affect health. It regards as fundamental an approach that respects and enhances each person's capacity for self-knowledge and self-care, and it emphasizes techniques that are grounded in this approach.
As a Mind-body medicine yoga focuses on intervention strategies that are thought to promote. Illness is viewed as an opportunity for personal growth and transformation, and health care providers as catalysts and guides in this process.

SEA Yoga

SEA yoga proposes an integrated and progressive well-being system. Methods rely on practice and supportive education materials. They aim towards ability for the practitioner to adapt and modify intelligently the program to his or her own profile. As such, it is pragmatic, rational, while maintaining a deep spiritual individual and societal component. SEA Yoga abides by its etymology: to re-unite.

  1. Hatha Yoga and Pranayama
    This unit provides the practice of specific corporal and breathing exercises. The dynamic and rational of each exercise as well as that of their dynamics is progressively revealed.
  2. Chakra
    This units introduces the energetic cores known as chakra or lotus, as well as some of the energy conducts. Specific exercises promote the regulation of these energetic system. The unit uses the preceding one, supplement it and develop it in more subtle areas.
  3. Acupuncture Systems
    This unit integrates the acupuncture energetic systems to the previous sections and permits additional regulatory mechanisms accessible to the student. This unit relies on the theoretical and practical approach to meridians, acupressure, energetic cores and their coherent blending with the two previous units
  4. Adjunctive Techniques
    Additional tools are introduced as well, including but not limited to bandhas, relaxation techniques, biofeedback, and seminars.

Further information at Yoga Rasa